A day in my life

As it rained outside my flat in Mumbai, I sipped the coffee I had just made and stared out of the french windows of my living room, to watch children rejoicing and running to the playground in front of our apartment. They were extremely happy playing in the rain. It was a mix of pink and grey skies, not cloudy but it looked as though the place had suddenly been blessed. It felt so good.. Just the sound of rain, kids playing football directing each other on how to pass and nothing else.

The room’s soft smell of lemon disinfectant, the concoction of first rain and earth was suddenly overpowered with the aroma of fresh pakodas and kachauris made across the street.

My roommate Vidya interrupted the silence as she walked in from the bedroom, gazed at the sight out of our window and said “Wow! What a sight” and I nodded in agreement. “Let me go and get some kachauris”, I told her. I handed the coffee mug over to Vidya and asked her to hold it for me. She sipped and commented “Wow that’s nice!”

So I go to my room, take my wallet hurry to the nearby Sai sweetshop and buy some hot hot kachauris and glazed hot golden jalebis. The shopkeeper wrapped them in a color printed newspaper that held reports of some MLA giving a speech somewhere in Marathi. The shop keeper then put it in a white polythene bag for me. After paying him I ran to cross the street with the bag, entered my apartment, pressed the button of the elevator and quickly hit 2.

I opened the door which was left ajar on my way to the sweetshop to see the gleaming face of Vidya. She exclaimed, “Dilnechi come fast, the sun is about to set…you will miss the view”.  I then tore open the packet and offered her the jalebi and kachauris. We devoured on it, like the kids who were out on the streets.. The tangy and flavorsome kachauris and the sweet  syrup that burst as we cut through the crust of the thin golden jalebis; we were tasting a piece of heaven and our friendship that had started as strangers to books to innocent adventures together added more magic to that moment.

The kids in the playground were free, running and paying in the rain. They were laughing and dancing. We watched them through our window, giggled, talked and argued to add another wonderful moment to our friendship.

 

Leave a Reply

